How to delete a volume on Synology NAS

Just like creating a volume, it’s possible to quickly remove one from a Synology NAS. Sometimes it may be required to delete some data from a NAS or clear way for a new volume. This guide will run you through all the necessary steps to delete a volume, as well as how to reset a Synology enclosure.

Before considering the removal of a volume or resetting a Synology NAS, I’ve compiled a list of ways to free up space on a Synology NAS, which may be worth checking out.

Deleting a volume will affect the data stored within it. I would strongly advise you to back up all the data stored on your Synology NAS before running through any of these steps.

How to delete a volume on Synology NAS

It’s vital you back up all the data on your NAS before messing around with storage pools and volumes. This process will remove the volume from the Synology NAS. There will be no way to recover it without using third-party data recovery tools.

  1. Open Storage Manager.
  2. Select the volume under Storage.
  3. Click the ellipsis menu button.
  4. Select Remove.
  1. Read through the on-screen pop-up for warnings and details.
  1. Enter your DSM account password.
  2. Click Submit.

The NAS will now start clearing out the volume and removing it from the DSM installation. It’s strongly advised not to do anything with the NAS until this process has been completed. The volume status will change to “Removing…Unmounting volume” and some services will be unavailable during removal.

How to reset a Synology NAS

If you want to completely clear the NAS, I’d recommend resetting the Synology enclosure. This process does not delete data or clear drives, though I’d recommend backing up data regardless.

  1. Press and hold down the Reset button for about 4 seconds until a beep is heard.
  2. Within 10 seconds, press and hold down the Reset button again for 4 seconds until 3 more beeps are heard.
  3. Wait for the status light on your Synology NAS to blink orange or green.
  4. Enter the IP address of the NAS into your browser.
  5. Follow the wizard to complete the re-installation process.

The NAS will now reset itself and you’ll be presented with the DSM installation wizard once complete.

Categories
Richard Pinnock-Edmonds Avatar

Read more