Shared folders on Synology DSM 7

How to delete a shared folder on Synology NAS

by

in

A shared folder stores data on a Synology network-attached storage (NAS) server running DiskStation Manager. Creating and managing shared folders is easy, but so is removing ones you no longer require. This guide will run you through the necessary steps to delete shared folders without losing data.

How to delete a Synology shared folder

Before you do anything to a shared folder, it’s vital you make a backup. I recommend moving all the contents to a different location, external to the NAS. Even if you have other copies through a reliable backup solution, it’s best to take one last manual snapshot of the shared folder before deleting.

Warning

This process will delete a shared folder. All data inside this shared folder will be lost. Only proceed with the process of deleting a shared folder in Synology’s DSM OS if you have already backed up the contents.

Once the shared folder has been deleted, it cannot be recovered by DSM. Should you no longer require a shared folder, it can be safely deleted using the Control Panel. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Log into your Synology NAS.
  2. Open Control Panel.
  3. Select the shared folder.
  1. Click Delete.
  2. Tick the checkbox.
  1. Click Delete.

You’ll be back to the shared folder list with the selected one no longer present. Congratulations! You’ve just deleted a shared folder and can now create a new one or go about your storage business.

Categories
Richard Pinnock-Edmonds Avatar

Latest articles