QNAP TS-464

How to reset a QNAP NAS

QNAP made it so there are five ways to reset a NAS, depending on which outcome is desired. Sometimes things go wrong and a reset is required to get the NAS back up and running again. This guide will run you through all the steps on how to reset a QNAP NAS.

How to reset QNAP NAS with QTS

To reset the QNAP NAS within QTS, head to Control Panel > Backup / Restore > Restore to Factory Default. Note that some of these processes will delete data stored on the NAS. This will present you with the following options:

  • Restore Factory Defaults & Format All Volumes: Reset settings and delete all stored data.
  • Reset Settings: Reset settings to default values (same result as holding the reset button for 10 seconds) and retain data.
  • Reinitialize NAS: All data will be deleted and the OS reset with the installation process reinitialized.

How to reset QNAP NAS with reset button

It’s possible to reset the QNAP enclosure through the use of the reset button. You’ll need to get a pin or small object to fit the hole on the rear of the NAS. NAS data is safe from deletion with these methods.

Reset the admin password

  1. Press and hold the reset button for 3 seconds.
  2. Release the button when you hear the beep.

The default password after the reset differs depending on which version of QTS your NAS is running.

  • QTS 4.4.1 and older: admin password reset to “admin.”
  • QTS 4.4.2 and later: admin password reset to the first NAS MAC address.

Restore default system settings

  1. Press and hold the reset button for 10 seconds.
  2. The NAS will beep twice, once at 3 seconds and secondly at 10 seconds.
Categories
Richard Pinnock-Edmonds Avatar

Read more